Shall we have a look at popular Web Hosts?

WORDPRESS

Wordpress-start-image

Over the years WordPress has evolved into a full-featured web content management system.

I was surprised that WordPress can actually make websites at first, but apparently it improved and extended the functions.

In my opinion, WordPress is one of the most robust and powerful content management systems in the world. And the reason I recommend installing a CMS for filmmakers, over building a traditional website is because once you set up WordPress, you will be able to create and modify your content and change the entire look and feel of your website, with the ease of sending an email.

Basically, it is saying WORDPRESS is great as a CMS and you can change it after set up rather than scatting a website and stays forever.

I’ve looked through three articles about making film websites, all of them mention and recommend WordPress, I think it is not only to use but also easy to assess after we build it, it is popular for professional filmmakers.

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 15.06.11

 

 

At last count over 23% of all websites were powered by WordPress.

Here we go, 23% shows they are one of the most dominant web hosts and it is long-established, have mature techniques.

WordPress is ready for the mobile web.

I know we can install WordPress on the phone because sometimes I upload posts while I am outside. And this can be an important function since our followers can check our websites easily!

 

 

DRUPAL

Unknown

The page is quiet formal and lack of creativity, and for me it is not easy to assess, not clear what to do. And they ask me the company and office number, and I do not have it.

 

 Matinee

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 14.50.20

I saw one author mentioned it and clicked on the page, it is more like classic film website, and google does not show much info. We have better choices so it might not be a good idea to use Matinee.

 

  WIX 

Unknown-1

Similar to WordPress, and the home page is eye-catching, and it is also available on mobile device. Themes seem to be various, and my partner is really fond of this web, she is more ‘developed’ than me I think.

The reason I choose wordpress is not only because it is well-known but also its mature functions, and I tend to follow the recommendation a lot so WIX was not mentioned in the article. Anyway, it seems to be popular and creative.

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 14.57.53

Clearly, it is growing rapidly, even though it is new, it is attractive and competitive in the market.

And the themes are not less than what WORDPRESS offers:

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 15.17.09

 

Our blog has already based on WORDPRESS so we might go for WIX, supporting the relatively new web host and my partner seems to get on with it quite well, and I can update afterwards.

Leave a Reply

